Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.



The school caters for children from Reception to Year Four.

The children start school in the September after their fourth birthday and leave to start Middle School in the September following their ninth birthday.

Children are in classes with children from one year band, and occasionally from two year bands.


The school follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum and the National Curriculum.

The EYFS is divided into seven areas:

- Communication and Language (CL)

- Physical Development (PD)

- Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

- Literacy (LY)

- Mathematics (MA)

- Understanding of the World (UTW)

- Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)


The National Curriculum is split into the following subjects:

- English

- Maths

- Science

- Design Technology (DT)

- Religious Education (RE)

- Physical Education (PE)

- Music

- History

- Geography

- Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE)

- Art and Design


Phonics teaching is based on Letters and Sounds and a variety of reading schemes are used including Oxford Reading Tree.

Some subjects are taught separately and some are taught in a linked way in meaningful topics. Some subjects are taught daily, some weekly and some in blocks.

All lessons have clear learning objectives and teaching is differentiated in order to meet individual needs. Children have learning targets and assessment is on-going to adjust targets and individual plans as appropriate.

The curriculum is enhanced through topic teaching, following children's ideas and interests and encouraging independent learning. Educational visits and events in school also enhance the curriculum and create memorable experiences for the children.

Religious Education is taught following the Diocese of St. Albans Agreed Syllabus.


The National Curriculum 2014

The main aim of the 2014 changes to the National Curriculum were in order to raise standards. The new curriculum was intended to be more challenging although the content was slimmer than the previous curriculum, focusing on essential core subject knowledge and skills such as essay writing and computer programming.

The table below summarises the main changes. 


What’s new?


Stronger emphasis on vocabulary development, grammar, punctuation and spelling (for example, the use of commas and apostrophes will be taught in KS1)

Handwriting – not currently assessed under the National Curriculum – is expected to be fluent, legible and speedy.

Spoken English has a greater emphasis, with children to be taught debating and presenting skills.


Five-year-olds will be expected to learn to count up to 100 (compared to 20 under the current curriculum) and learn number bonds to 20 (currently up to 10)

Simple fractions (1/4 and 1/2) will be taught from KS1, and by the end of Year 6, children should be able to convert decimal fractions to simple fractions (e.g. 0.375 = 3/8)

By the age of nine, children will be expected to know times tables up to 12x12 (currently 10x10 by the end of Year 6)

Calculators will not be introduced until near the end of KS2 (Year 6), to encourage mental arithmetic


Strong focus on scientific knowledge and language, rather than using the nature and methods of science in abstract terms

Evolution will be taught in primary schools for the first time

Design & Technology

Afforded greater importance under the new curriculum, setting children on the path to becoming the designers and engineers of the future

More sophisticated use of design equipment such as electronics and robotics

In KS2, children will learn about how key events and individuals in design and technology have shaped the world


Computing replaces Information and Communication Technology (ICT), with a greater focus on programming rather than on operating programs 

From age five, children will learn to write and test simple programs, and to organise, store and retrieve data

From seven, they will be taught to understand computer networks, including the internet

Internet safety will be taught in primary schools


modern foreign language or ancient language (Latin or Greek) is mandatory in KS2

Children will be expected to master basic grammar and accurate pronunciation and to converse, present, read and write in the language